Quilt Pieces

A few years ago I began designing fabric for quilt makers. I looked at a lot of quilts for inspiration. The old quilts were especially beautiful and I wondered what stories they  told. If they could only talk they would tell me. That thought inspired my new book which comes out next week from Peachtree:
Mooshka – A Quilt Story.

My mother used to call leftover bits of fabric schnitz, or schnitzerle. This post is about the family schnitz that were used to create this book.

This is a photo of my younger sister Karla when she was in kindergarten.

And here is Karla sleeping under Mooshka in the book.

Here is my Great Aunt Marjorie in 1917.

This is how I imagined her as a child telling fortunes.Marjorie telling fortunes

Here is the wedding photo of Lily and William Powell in 1887. I had never seen this picture until last week but I had heard the story of his proposal many times.

And here is his proposal in the book.

All books are pieced together with bits of fact and fiction, with many people helping to stitch. That metaphor feels especially pertinent to this book. Thank you to all of the stitchers and stories that helped make Mooshka.

Here’s a photo of Karla and me working on a first draft in about 1964.

Links:
Click here to see the book: Mooshka at Amazon.

Click here to read a review from Publisher’s Weekly, or this starred review from Kirkus.

Click here to see some of the fabrics I have designed, future schnitz.

12 responses to “Quilt Pieces

  1. Gorgeous and clever and a “just right” book–I feel very strongly that this book is going to become a “new classic”! I’ll call Sue or Linda at Mockingbird Books to see if I can reserve a copy to pick up next week when I’m in Seattle (doing school visits)…or…are you signing anywhere next week, Julie? I hope so!!

  2. Looks like a great book, Julie.

  3. Congratulations, Julie, on this book and the glowing reviews, and wishing you mega sales. It looks wonderful – I hope it soon arrives in Australia.

    All best wishes from DownUnder

    Peter

  4. What a fantastic array of patterns. And thank you for sharing family photo inspirations- they’re great imagination sparkers!

  5. I just received a review copy of Mooshka yesterday and as I glanced through I thought wistfully “I wish she’d design some fabrics” and now I discover that you have! I love the idea of the book and I’m happy I read this post before writing a review — the personal. historical context is good to know.

  6. Beautiful illustrations and beautiful idea. Can’t wait to read the book!

  7. Pingback: Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast » Blog Archive » Mooshka. Paschkis. Before Breakfast.

  8. Kelly Ramsdell Fineman

    So lovely – and Great Aunt Marjorie looks like she was something!

  9. Julie Paschkis

    Thanks for all of your comments.
    Julie

  10. Karen E Watson

    I love the way you weave together your life and your art.

  11. I love putting in bits and pieces of family into my manuscripts as well. Congratulations on its publication. It sounds like a wonderful book. I love quilts and the stories they tell.

Leave a Reply

