Some Bears


I
 should be writing about donkeys and elephants. I have already voted by mail and I am waiting for the election on Tuesday with fear, dread and a tiny bit of hope. Maybe, like me, you can hardly bear it. So here is some ursine distraction.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Georgy Narbut’s bear is plump and solid despite having no shading or variation of tone in his body – just a well drawn form. The curve of the belt defines the bulk of the belly.


………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Beth Van Hoesen’s perfect snout.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Can you see Callisto hidden in Margaret Chodos-Irvine’s print? She is there. 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

These three bears in their shimmering izbushka are by Yuri Vasnetsov.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Anonymous hung this bear in a tree and it has been there for centuries now.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Tarnation and Angel, from Swamp Angel illustrated by Paul Zelinsky

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Little Bear by Maurice Sendak

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I hope these bears give you pleasure. Please vote for your favorite bear. Unlike in political contests any bear that you vote for wins.

18 responses to “Some Bears

  1. Very hard to choose. I’ll say Beth Van Hoesen’s – winsome, clean.

  2. Love them all (thanks Julie) but I am intrigued by the mystery in Margaret’s.

  3. Tarnation and Angel. Wow! Thanks.

  4. i have to vote with my heart: LITTLE BEAR! with whom I learned to read.

  5. Always love LIttle Bear, but Van Hoesen is quite wonderful too. Thanks.

  6. All the bears remind me of my beloved brother-in-law Dan (his totem) and the wonderful bear artwork you gave my sister. We both now have a collection of bears in his memory!

  7. Love all of them (so does Cornelius). There’s something about Little Bear, though . . . thanks + friendly growl🙂.

  8. Narbut’s Viking bear with the windy trees is the one for me.

  9. I love them all. I love Beth Van Hoesen’s bear snout…but then, there’s Little Bear, and the three in the shimmering Izbushka.. Just too hard to choose. They all win, as does this great blog.

  10. Really like this bear post and I must say it is hard to choose.
    I am so very charmed by the three bears; the vertical format is original! The drawing of baby bear’s response truly expresses his surprise and horror of finding someone sleeping in his bed- no need for words to tell convey that feeling. Thanks for all these great images.

  11. My vote: Georgy Nargut’s bear for President (gotta love that paunch – very Teddy Roosevelt) and Little Bear for Vice-President ( a dash of sugar & spice in the new administration.)

  12. I have to vote for Narbut’s bear- I love the solid form against the windy scene!

  13. Katherine McWilliams

    I LOVE being reminded of books I read to my kids long ago, and books that were read to me even longer ago! I vote for Little Bear, who fits in both categories!

  14. I’m gonna go out on a limb (you’re expecting me to vote for the bear in a tree, now, I bet), but what I really want to say is that all the comments are so sensitive and thoughtful I’d wager that every one of us voted for the same person for president.

  15. thanks for this nice distraction
    I think we need a new Bear Party for next election

  16. Little Bear for me too. There is no draftsman of natural things (or monsters) closer to my heart than early Sendak.

  17. Maurice Sendac’s Little Bear of course. A love from my earliest memory.

  18. Morn after the night of Thanksgiving and my vote goes to those food filled, happy bellies of Yuri Vasnetsov’s Three Bears. Also a nice link to post-election night “whew” slumber.

Leave a Reply

