Picnic

sip the roses, anonymous artist, 1809

In 1809 John Roscoe published The Butterfly’s Birthday which included the following advice (still good today):

roscoe advice

Beautiful summer days are meant for pleasure.

kite and garland 1825

And picnics with friends.

Our New Friends by Joe Max Emminger

Our New Friends by Joe Max Emminger

You never know who will show up.

Sylvester by William Steig

Sylvester by William Steig

Don’t bring too much to a picnic.

On Market Street: words by Arnold Lobel and pictures by Anita Lobel 1981

On Market Street: words by Arnold Lobel and pictures by Anita Lobel 1981

It helps to have a picnic basket.

August Picnic by Julie Paschkis

August Picnic by Julie Paschkis

If you bring raspberry tarts, make sure there are enough for everyone.

Raspberries by Jay O'Callahan, illustrated by WIll Moses 2009

Raspberries by Jay O’Callahan, illustrated by WIll Moses 2009

Sometimes I am too lazy to make elaborate food for a picnic. Watermelon with lime juice squeezed on it is delicious and takes no effort.

Julie Paschkis fruitful

Sometimes you don’t need food at all.

Collage by Richard Kehl

 Richard Kehl

A bonfire is the best way to end a summer evening.

Orlando the Marmalade Cat by Kathleen Hale 1938

Orlando the Marmalade Cat by Kathleen Hale 1938

I hope you are having fun summer days filled with excursions and picnics. If you have ideas for the perfect food or book to bring on a picnic, please comment.

She Sells Sea Shells, Seymour Chwast 2008

She Sells Sea Shells, Seymour Chwast 2008

18 responses to “Picnic

  1. Great illustrations, thank you!

  2. Wonderful images – yes a bonfire is the perfect way to end a summer evening. My hair still hints at the smoke from the one we had last night – I love that smell:-)

  3. Beautiful blog !! It’s raining – but now I want to plan a picnic soon!!

  4. The excerpt and picture that you added reminds me of Sing-song by Christina Rossetti- It’s a collection of short poems. Just wanted to let you know it might be of some interest to you. Now I really want to find and buy and read that Butterfly book.

    • Julie Paschkis

      Thanks for your comment – I’ll look for the Rosetti. The poem and the first two pictures on this post are from A Treasury of Illustrated Children’s Books: Early Nineteenth Century Classics from the Osborne Collection by Leonard DeVries.

  5. Cathy Bonnell

    Julie–is your Aug.picnic image a card? I love it!! My favorite picnic food or just out on the patio early in the Phx. heat is cantalope & cottage cheese.

    • Julie Paschkis

      It’s not a card, but maybe someday it could be! I like cantaloupe with yogurt – similar idea.Cardamom is good with that too.

  6. Marybeth Satterlee

    There is no better time of year, except maybe Christmas Eve. Thanks for honoring the days of picnics!

  7. What a wonderful invitation to enjoy summer on its first day of many! Thank you.

  8. The perfect food? A big bag of ice cold cherries. That’s what I will be eating on the picnic that I am having with my little one today. Thank you for the blog. I love the illustrations you choose to share.

  9. Julie, did you know I have a collection of snapshots of people (anonymous) having picnics? I’ll show it to you next time we have lunch (a picnic, maybe?) Wonderful post – I am SO in the mood for summer!!!

  10. Love this collection of images! Eating out of doors really makes one much more aware of the senses.

  11. Karen E Watson

    My visits to the local playground with my granddaughters are instantly made into a picnic by putting a blanket on the grass, a few little snacks and a book…

  12. I love your images of picnics, Julie–I’d love a card of your picnic picture, too! My favorite food for picnics is deviled eggs. They need to be eaten before too long but somehow, they always fly off the plate. And chocolate chip cookies, of COURSE!

  13. What a delightful post — the range of images is wonderful! Had a picnic with friends last night before an outdoor concert. We gorged ourselves on strawberries.

  14. I see titles we have and some new ones. I am glad to have found your blog.

Leave a Reply

