On the Go

Drago Jurac

I’ve just returned from a sea voyage. Travel refreshes.
What’s your favorite way to get away?
You could hop on a bike.

by William Steig

Or a bug.

by Hedwig Sporri-Dolder

Ride a swallow, a pale blue cat or black dog.

by Eleanor Vere Boyle

 

by Julie Paschkis

 

by Lisbeth Zwerger

 

Float in a boat

Ola by Ingri and Edgar Parin D’Aulaire

 

or a balloon.

by Alice and Martin Provensen

Ride a truck, a car, or a train.

by Margaret Chodos-Irvine

French Advertising Card 1920

 

by William Pene du Bois

Or just head out on foot.

The Disorderly Girl 1860

by Arthur Rackham

by Yuri Vasnetsov

 

Enjoy the ride!

from A Visit to William Blake’s Inn, poems by Nancy Willard, illustrated by Alice and Martin Provensen

 

 

16 responses to “On the Go

  1. I look to this blog for inspiration almost all the time now, so many talented artists all collected in one spot!

  2. Love seeing this gathering of artwork! xx

    • Thank you – it was fun to put together. I particularly liked the image of the Disorderly Girl. She doesn’t quite fit in a travel blog but she forced her way in.
      P.S. If this is Sharon Creech the author, I am a HUGE fan.Thank you for your work.

  3. This series of images, all linked by travel, is thoroughly delightful.

  4. This was like walking through a wonderful theme-related art gallery. Lovely to see some familiar works as well as discovering new ones like that droll Arthur Rackham silhouette. Thank you!

  5. Thank you for these beautiful images! I love the boat of cats.

  6. It’s important to reach a certain level of disorderliness when you jump rope, no? Love that picture, plus all the others. Nice post, Julie. P.S. I took a few journeys via roller skates!

    • Oh – roller skates! I remember feeling freedom when I rode them as a child. As an adult I felt freedom and fear of falling. As a child it didn’t bother me that I couldn’t figure out how to stop.

  7. Deirdre O'Sullivan from Australia

    I like the disorderly girl, too – kids were so horribly buttoned up in those stiff and starchy Victorian times, it’s good to see a kid looking dishevelled for a change! (as opposed to shevelled, that is!)
    I also adore your blue cat and bird painting, Julie – and I am definitely not a cat person! But this cool cat has such charm and elegance!

    • That came from a book of cautionary stories. I don’t think we are supposed to admire her but times have changed!
      Also, I don’t think cautionary tales are printed any more – unless they are tongue in cheek, or everything works out in the end. Those darker images from the past are appealing and funny now – I wonder how they were perceived when they came out.

  8. So glad I made the trip over here today! Inspiring, all. (I also loved the disorderly jump-roper.) Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

