Aurinka

This blog is usually about children’s books.

Today instead of talking about children’s books I’m sharing other work: this post previews a show I will be having in August.

This other work feeds my writing and illustrating of books, in direct and indirect ways.

A few years ago I started painting a character I named Aurinka – a sun headed person. Aurinko is the Finnish word for sun. I have continued to paint her.

Aurinka’s Tale, 2023, Gouache on Paper 24″ x 48″

Aurinka’s most recent adventure has been in the world of Tarot.

I love old playing cards of all kinds. Tarot cards in particular draw on a rich history of symbols and imagery.

A year ago I painted this Fool – Aurinka setting forth.

Over the year I painted the rest of the major arcana: the Aurinka Arcana, Parrot Tarot.

Here is the whole deck.

I’ll be showing these paintings at the i.e. gallery in Edison WA from August 4-27. They are all 10″x 15″, painted with a dip pen and ink, and gouache on Arches Watercolor paper.

I also printed a limited edition of the paintings as cards so that they can be used for fortune telling. The cards are 6″ x 4″, wrapped in a cotton scarf. I’ll be selling 20 sets of the deck at the show.

Asking the cards a question and looking at the images that come up can be the beginning of an interesting conversation with yourself or others. There are many ways to look at or read the images – none of them are wrong. These are fine for amateur soothsayers and fortune-tellling flaneurs.

I’ve also always loved packaging. I like the decorative aspects and the wild claims.

So I painted a series of labels for imaginary tonics and elixirs.

Elixir of Time
Floribunda Fleeting Beauty Drops
Fortified Decision Juice
Ambiguity Tonic: One Sip Clarifies Nothing
Bulldog Brand: Distillation of Fortitude
Mrs. Macbeth’s Erasing Balm (removes damn spots)
Empathy Switchel ( Switchel is a punch, often flavored with ginger)
Crow’s Seeking Syrup

Please come up to the opening at i.e. gallery on August 5 from 3-5, or to my talk on August 19th from 2-3. There will be additional paintings at the show, and some surprises. If you can’t make it, please visit on line. Have a sip of mystery!

Thank you.

Elixir of Friendship. Drink Daily

27 responses to “Aurinka

  1. Catherine Iino

    If you please, would you now develop some of these products? I will order them in bulk.

  2. LOVE your work so much, Julie!

  3. Love these! I’ll take the Fool or the Hermit.

  4. Oh how I LOVE every single image! So wish I could come see in person. Good luck with this show–it’s spectacular!

  5. Gwendolyn Emminger

    Beautiful work Julie!

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Julie, Do you ever travel with your paintings? To shows other than in WA? I live in CO, and because my husband is a long hauler from early Covid and on oxygen, we travel little. I love, love, love your work!
    Last year’s calendar (or it may be 2021, still has a place of honor in my office! Thanks so much!

    • Julie Paschkis

      Thanks for your message. I’m sorry that your husband has long haul Covid – hard.
      I do travel, but I haven’t had shows of my art outside of the area in many years.

      • Judy Ziegler

        Well, my cousin lives across the Sound on the Cove, so I. At just have to fly up north and visit!

  7. The mini Tarot Nova cards from 1996 have been my favorite for years and years. If these were made into a card deck they would also be my favorite. Beautiful images.

    • Julie Paschkis

      I’m glad that you still like the Tarot Nova! That was my first introduction to the imagery and symbols of Tarot.
      I am selling a limited edition of the Aurinka Arcana through the i.e. gallery. It’s just the major arcana.
      They are $120 for a deck and they come wrapped in a cotton scarf which I also designed. I would love to someday find a publisher and make a full version, and more of them.

  8. Aw! I love these so much, Julie. You must, must find a publisher, Chronicle, perhaps, and make as many as your heart desires, which will fill our heart’s desires as well.

  9. These are so beautiful. Thanks.

  10. These are gorgeous! I agree. Maybe Chronicle will want to publish this deck!

  11. Cathy Ballou Mealey

    Ooh – The Chariot is my favorite but they are all lovely! Will have to look up what it symbolizes. Gorgeous!

  12. I’m loving these art works. They are a joy to see. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a comment