A Dark Turn for Bear

From time to time there are people in my life who delight in proposing unfortunate titles for my Mouse and Bear picture books.

“A Divorce for Bear”.  “An Intervention for Bear”.  “A Murder Rap for Bear”.

How disrespectful! Bear would harrumph. Perhaps we can all be a bit nicer, Mouse would say.

And then about five years ago writing for children began to feel like a slog. Somehow my heart wasn’t in it. I could keep trudging along. Many writers and artist hit rough patches, find their work has gone flat, wonder if they should quit. Some do. Some go dormant for years. Some go into a new genre or a new medium. I went with that and started writing adult thrillers—books where divorces, interventions, murder and other unpleasant things are abundant. 

It was an idea I’d been toying with for awhile. So I started with your classic murder mystery. But by some not-quite-clear-to-me process, it has morphed into a psychological suspense. Regardless I’ve been having a great time doing it.

This turn reminds me very much of when I first started writing picture books, or rather trying to write picture books. Back then I was reading a lot of picture books to my then-young daughters. Maybe five years ago I started reading and watching tons of mysteries, thrillers, suspense novels and even some horror for my now-a-lot-older self. As with picture books, the more I read, the more I thought, “I could write one of these.”

As with picture books, it turned out to be way harder than it looked. It took me about five years to get published in picture books. Without really noticing, I’ve realized lately how closely the change to adult has been like my experience with children’s books. 

As with picture books, I had to get familiar with the genre, to get a sense of who’s who in the field, a sense of the market, the word counts and the limits of each genre. There’s everything from “cozies”–nice homey mysteries featuring charming bread-and-breakfasts, pets and little old ladies solving mysteries to action packed edge-of-your seat, the-fate-of-the-world-is-at-stake thrillers to psychological suspense edging into horror, like Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House

And of course, and most importantly, as with picture books, there was learning to write the darn things. That’s taken at least the last five years and will take more. But I think I’ve got a book now that’s working. I think I’ve figured out my niche in the field–psychological suspense, probably what would be called domestic psychological suspense—characters caught up in family secrets, disfunction and dark deeds within the context of seemingly ordinary life.

I’m loving working in this completely different space. I’m excited about writing again. I love picture books and middle-grade. I’ll always love them (in fact there’s a new Mouse and Bear book coming out in 2025) but they take a different part of the brain and heart. As others will tell you, I’ve always had a dark streak; certainly I can be morbid, especially if it’s funny. I don’t live with my focus on the dark side of things (in fact I’ve always been afraid of the dark), but I’m really having a good time playing with it in my stories. After all, I’m always the first to up the stakes with totally inappropriate titles for Mouse and Bear: 

“Mouse Canapes for Bear”, anyone?

Outrageous! huffs Bear.

It is kind of funny, says Mouse.

8 responses to “A Dark Turn for Bear

  1. I like the alternative titles for Bear & Mouse books! Look forward to reading your psychological suspense novel.

  2. Thanks, Ellen. 🙂 I’ll be pitching to agents to at the end of May, so cross your fingers for me.

  3. laurakvasnosky

    Go, BONNY! This is going to be something special. I love the pictures you used to illustrate your post.

  4. Thanks, Laura. I was thrilled when I found that house with the hooded eyes. So creepy. Fingers crossed for a sale.

  5. Love it. How writers stay alive by relentlessly challenging and stretching craft.

    I am having fun with Bear titles though. How about Bearly There. Or To Bear or Not To Bear. Or The UnBearable Lightness of Mouse?

  6. Oh, yes. The UnBearable Lightness of Mouse. My writing is getting more and more sophisticated. Ha!

  7. Bonny, I’m THRILLED to hear your-not-so-new news, and look forward to reading your adult thrillers. Now all ages will have Bonny books. I have a dark streak in me as well. I watched this yesterday and it’s a perfect blend of haunting merriment: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_Mmd26EN9g

    About two years ago I lost my passion for children’s books as well. I’d invite it for tea, or a walk – or a forced-march – but nothing. Maybe she’ll come back, maybe not, but I’m fine with that and am more content than I’ve been in years. I’ve come full circle, back to drawing improvisationally just for me. I call them “Wenderings,” for the way they way they meander their way into being, and have self-published Volumes 1 and 2 on Amazon. Good luck finding the agent who matches you and your books, Bonny. I know you’ll trust your gut on that too. Ever your friend and fan – Wendy

  8. Wendy, that animated short is amazing! Charming, sad, odd, funny and haunting all at once. Thanks for the link. And thanks for the good wishes. Good luck to you, too! I’ll look for your Wenderings on Amazon.

Leave a comment