ZigZag

Meet ZigZag – Coming out on September 19th from Enchanted Lion Books!

At a formative age I read The Wonderful O by James Thurber. It is about pirates who take over an island and forbid the use of the letter o. Woe is we!


That book planted a seed in me that grew into ZigZag, a crocodile who swallows all of his vowels. It is hard to live without them so he sets out on a journey to get them back.

The easiest way for me to tell you about this book is to show it to you! Here’s the entire book from guzzle to zatch – aka from title page to author’s note. You can race through it or meander through it as you desire.

Here’s what Kirkus had to say in a review:
Can one literally eat one’s words?

…This cheery story about delighting in words and wordplay will appeal to readers who enjoy increasing their vocabularies and testing the sounds and feel of new terms. In an illuminating author’s note in which she invites children to play with language, Paschkis admits she “loves words.” She incorporates numerous ones in her illustrations, many containing multiple vowels; these gambol gleefully throughout her colorful, lively artwork featuring all-animal characters and intricate patterns. 

A veritable feast for word connoisseurs. (Picture book. 5-8)

ZigZag was also honored by inclusion in the annual Original Art show at the Society of Illustrators in NYC, from October 26 – January 27.

ZigZag was printed in Italy on thick, creamy paper. You can zigzag over to your local bookstore, or get the book at Enchanted Lion Books or Bookshop.org. Thank you – thank u!

I hope you eat it up and it doesn’t eat you up.

27 responses to “ZigZag

  1. Love it! Julie, did you know that the Czech language has a sentence without a single vowel!!!!! Impossible to pronounce but true. d

    >

  2. Aaaah–Splendiferous!

  3. Yea! I just ordered it for 5-year old triplets (who live in Seattle). We were just in town to visit with them and my sister Mercedes (whom you know). Congrats on the book!

  4. Glorious–congratulations, Julie! I love that this was inspired by The Wonderful O.

    • Did you love that book when you were a child too?
      I need to reread it!

      • Uma Krishnaswami

        Julie, I didn’t come across it as a child but I read it to my son when he was young and we both loved it. Can’t wait to hold your book in my hands!

  5. BRLLNT! And BRV on your lifetime achievement award!!!

  6. Cathy Ballou Mealey

    Love that Kirkus was inspired to use “gambol gleefully” in their delightful review! Can’t wait to touch that hefty book paper!

  7. What a happy book! Thank you.
    I just pre-ordered from Gathered Volumes in Perrysburg, Ohio

  8. wonderful!

  9. Such a rumbustious book!

  10. Thank you for showing us the whole book … it definitely convinced me to buy a copy

    I’ve also put a library hold on The Wonderful O, which is new to me. I do so love Thurber’s Many Moons which was also illustrated by Marc Simont

  11. Wonderful! Congratulations, Julie, and on the BIMA Brava Award. Your art inspires and fulfills so many of us.

  12. Absolutely gorgeous! And I’m not surprised that Enchanted Lion snatched this up! Congrats!

  13. Julie, this is a book for ALL ages–I loved trying to pronounce the words with no vwls. Luckily I have a granddaughter who will be 5 in April so I just ordered her a copy to celebrate new first year in her new school! Hry! (Those three letters could be SO many words. HINT: It’s NOT “hurry” in this context!) Meg
    PS–So glad to know that Mrs. Crocodile has a brother. 🙂

  14. I’m absolutely dzz (& sometimes y) with admiration!

  15. Pingback: [srsly hppy review] ZigZag by Julie Paschkis | Jama's Alphabet Soup

Leave a comment