6 responses to “Student Newsletters Then and Now

  1. Molly and Caroline asked some fairly sophisticated questions of you, Laura. Do you know how disappointed I am that you don’t share my love of cucumbers! How about pickles?

  2. What a nice look at an author’s school visit and at a school that values reading and writing!

  3. What a wonderful post – I didn’t know you generous and talented ladies had a blog! I look forward to reading more.

  4. Julie Paschkis

    I finally had a chance to click on the links. I liked seeing you and the kids in action! Also, it is wonderful that newsletters now can be so sophisticated and filled with images. On the other hand, there is something wonderful about your entirely hand written newspaper. I wish my NY Times came that way.

  5. What an impressive video of your visit to Highland Terrace! It really captured the joy of a successful author visit. This is the kind of promotion librarians need to be doing all the time in these days of budget cuts. Also loved the poetry list in Julie’s Book Bag. We just received our copy of Book Speak this week. I am looking forward to sharing it with my students. It’s filled with delightful poems about books and reading — there’s even a poem about the index! What librarian wouldn’t love that? These poems beg to be enjoyed across the grades.

  6. What a wonderful story, Laura. I can imagine you as your school newsletter writer/editor! I love the 5 questions posed to you. At first, I smiled over the ‘who helps you write your books’ question; then I realized that we do get plenty of help from crit partners, family, friends, and editors! I hope you are well. Miss you and Seattle…

Leave a Reply

