EEK!

EEK! It’s a book.

A few years ago Julie Larios brought a new manuscript to our critique group. It was an alphabet book where each letter was a sound instead of a word. HUZZAH! I loved the idea and asked Julie if I could illustrate it. We both found the idea of random sounds delightful. I imagined an animal to go with each sound. 

My agent at the time felt that the book needed a story. UH-OH.

Julie L. and I decided that I would create a story through the art. So I invented a story with animals to go with and around the sounds. Because I came up with the story we are both credited as authors.

I kept the Mouse I had painted for ACHOO and sent him on a journey. The plot unfolds through the art and the sounds punctuate the story.

The story begins with Mouse picking a flower which he carries through the book. Each page introduces a new character (or characters).  A bird and the bee are the first characters to be introduced and they are on every spread until the flower at last is delivered to the mouse’s love: a Lion. All of the animals (except Lion) are hinted at before they appear and after they leave. The art is a kind of scroll.

If I couldn’t make a sequence work I went to Julie Larios and we reworked either the sound or the action. We changed many of the sounds through the whole alphabet, but always kept the idea of using sounds instead of words.

We sent the book out and it was accepted for publication by Peachtree. The wonderful editor Vicky Holifield guided the book through the next step of its journey. Every sound,  color  and image was considered carefully and discussed with many words. HMMMM. 
For example the sound for p began as PSST, became 
PHEW and ended up as PLOP. My magenta P was turned into a powder pink P.

We struggled at times to get the right words and imagery.

Sometime during the process I realized that my fantasy story was quite autobiographical. Raccoon had a bicycle accident – which I had had in 2016.

A big tree fell – just as a tree fell on my studio in 2019.

 A random marching band came by – which happened when I was visiting Golden Gate Park.

Julie and I hope that children and other readers invent their own narratives to go with the sounds. We want you to head off on your own imaginative journeys. ZWWOOP – Play with language and revel in sounds!

You can get EEK! at Secret Garden Books in Seattle , at Alibris , at Amazon or at your favorite local store. Thank you.

23 responses to “EEK!

  1. HUZZAH! indeed. So glad EEK! is here. Interesting autobiographical elements. Can’t wait to read this to our grandsons.

  2. Yippee! Amazzzzzing! This is wonderful book. Kids are going to love it!

  3. Congratulations to you both! This looks wonderful, special, & full of surprises!

  4. I am going to tweet myself to this book right now! Flood delighted

  5. What a wonderful book! Congratulations!

  6. This sounds absolutely wonderful! m2

    On Thu, Aug 27, 2020, 11:03 AM Books Around The Table wrote:

    > Julie Paschkis posted: “EEK! It’s a book. A few years ago Julie Larios > brought a new manuscript to our critique group. It was an alphabet book > where each letter was a sound instead of a word. HUZZAH! I loved the idea > and asked Julie if I could illustrate it. We both found” >

  7. Yum! What a scrumptious book! Congratulations

  8. Congratulations! It looks wonderful!!!

  9. Just ordered for my kiddos! Love this!

  10. It’s tough to come up with a fresh alphabet book, but you’ve done a fabulous job. It looks delightful!

  11. Ooh. A new alphabet! I like that idea!!!

  12. Love your post, Julie P. Working with you on that book was a delight.

  13. Gorgeous, fun-loving artwork! Thanks for posting!

  14. Pingback: nine cool things on a tuesday | Jama's Alphabet Soup

  15. Pingback: Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast » Blog Archive » An Alphabet Adventure Before Breakfast

Leave a comment